Wainwright, Wong Finalists

Both Adam Wainwright and Kolten Wong have been announced as finalists for two of Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) end of season awards–Wainwright for the Cy Young and Wong for Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year.

Wainwright is up against Johnny Cueto and Clayton Kershaw for the top pitcher in the National League, while Wong is nominated with Jacob deGrom and Billy Hamilton.

Voting took place before the postseason.

The full list of finalists is as follows:

AL_Logo NL_Logo
Jackie Robinson
Rookie of the Year
Nov. 10, 5 p.m. CT
Jose Abreu, White Sox
Dellin Betances, Yankees
Matt Shoemaker, Angels
Jacob deGrom, Mets
Billy Hamilton, Reds
Kolten Wong, Cardinals
Manager of the Year
Nov. 11, 5 p.m. CT
Mike Scioscia, Angels
Buck Showalter, Orioles
Ned Yost, Royals
Bruce Bochy, Giants
Clint Hurdle, Pirates
Matt Williams, Nationals
Cy Young
Nov. 12, 5 p.m. CT
Felix Hernandez, Mariners
Corey Kluber, Indians
Chris Sale, White Sox
Johnny Cueto, Reds
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals
Nov. 13, 5 p.m. CT
Michael Brantley, Indians
Victor Martinez, Tigers
Mike Trout, Angels
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

photo credit: Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports

Share Today!

Leave a Reply