Kershaw First Since Gibson

Not since Bob Gibson won the Most Valuable Player award in 1968 has a pitcher captured the same honor–until this year as Clayton Kershaw was announced as BBWAA’s National League MVP on Thursday night.

The Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA and threw six complete games–leading not just the NL, but all of the Majors in those three categories. Kershaw also threw a n0-hitter in 2014.

Kershaw earned 18 first place votes and 355 points overall. Miami outfielder Giancarlo Stanton was runner-up with eight first place votes and 298 points. Pittsburgh’s Andrew McCutchen was third–with four first place votes and 271 points.

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright finished eight in the balloting, while teammates Matt Holliday and Jhonny Peralta also garned some votes to place 14th and 15th, respectively.

Angels outfielder Mike Trout was voted the unanimous winner in the American League.

View each of the individual NL ballots cast here.

photo credit:  Scott Rovak-US PRESSWIRE

Share Today!

Leave a Reply