Molina Lucky #7

The number has now reached seven–as in seven consecutive seasons Yadier Molina has won the Rawlings Gold Glove. The St. Louis Cardinals received the honor Tuesday evening, beating out Jonathan Lucroy and Russell Martin for the honor.

Only Bob Gibson (9) and Ozzie Smith (11) have won more Rawlings Gold Gloves in franchise history than Molina, who is tied for third with Curt Flood (7).

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were created over 50 years ago when a sales manager with the company, Elmer Blasco, made the suggestion and then worked with the Brown Shoe Company in St. Louis on the initial design of the trophy. The updated pro award is 12” deep x 17” wide x 2 ½” tall. If the award recipient is a Rawlings sponsored player, they will receive a gold version of their game day model on their award. Other winners will receive a generic gold Rawlings model.  (Rawlings).


1B Eric Hosmer, KC

2B Dustin Pedroia, BOS

SS J.J. Hardy, BAL

3B Kyle Seager, SEA

LF Alex Gordon, KC

CF Adam Jones, BAL

RF Nick Markakis, BAL

C Salvador Perez, KC

P Dallas Keuchel, HOU


1B Adrian Gonzalez, LAD

2B DJ LeMahieu, COL

SS Andrelton Simmons, ATL

3B Nolan Arenado, COL

LF Christian Yelich, MIA

CF Juan Legares, NYM

RF Jason Heyward, ATL

C Yadier Molina, C

P Zack Greinke, LAD

photo credit:  Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Share Today!

Leave a Reply