Edmonds, McGee Among HoF Finalists

Today the St. Louis Cardinals announced Jim Edmonds, Bob Forsch, Keith Hernandez, Willie McGee, Mark McGwire, Matt Morris, Ted Simmons and Joe Torre as the eight players nominated for possible induction into the team’s new Cardinals Hall of Fame.

Voting begins this Friday, March 7th online at cardinals.com/HOF. The two players with the most fan votes after voting concludes on April 22nd will be inducted into the Cardinals Hall of Fame this August.

 “Induction into the Cardinals Hall of Fame is one of the highest honors the team can bestow,” said Bill DeWitt Jr., Chairman and CEO of the St. Louis Cardinals. “We think it is appropriate to have the best, most knowledgeable fans in the game of baseball choose the two Cardinals players who will be part of this first elected class.”

To be eligible, players must have played for St. Louis at least three seasons and must be retired as a player from Major League Baseball for at least three years. The eligible pool of players is divided into two categories, ‘modern players’ and ‘veteran players.’ If a player retired more than 40 years prior to the induction year, he is classified as a veteran player.

Besides nominating modern players for fan balloting, a “Red Ribbon” committee of Cardinals baseball experts also elected a veteran player for induction using a secret ballot process. In addition, the Cardinals organization may also opt to induct an individual who was an important figure in Cardinals history such as a coach, broadcaster or member of the front office.

The formal enshrinement ceremony will take place on Saturday, August 16th during the 2014 Cardinals Hall of Fame Induction Weekend.

Share Today!

Leave a Reply