2019 Opening Day in STL

***The St. Louis Cardinals have announced that due to the forecast of inclement weather, Opening Day in St. Louis has been postponed until Friday, April 5th.***

Provided the weather holds out, St. Louis Cardinal fans attending Opening Day in St. Louis on Friday will be in store for an extra something special as the team has announced that all 16 living members of their Hall of Fame will be in attendance for the festivities.

Lou Brock, Chris Carpenter, Vince Coleman, Jim Edmonds, Whitey Herzog, Bob Gibson, Ray Lankford, Tony La Russa, Tim McCarver, Willie McGee, Mark McGwire, Mike Shannon, Ted Simmons, Ozzie Smith, Bruce Sutter, and Joe Torre will all be on the field at Busch Stadium to help kick off the new season of baseball.

The ceremonial first pitch will be thrown out by Jason Isringhausen and Matt Morris, teammates on the 2004 NL Championship squad.

Here is the full pregame schedule for Opening Day in St. Louis:

9:00 a.m. Select Ballpark Village venues open

9:30 – 11:45 a.m. Opening Day Pep Rally at Ballpark Village, free for all fans to attend and will proceed rain or shine.

12:00 p.m. Gates Open

12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Cardinals Batting Practice (subject to change)

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Padres Batting Practice (subject to change)

2:30 p.m. Pregame ceremonies begin with an appearance by the famous Budweiser Clydesdales.

2:35 p.m. Introduction of Cardinals Hall of Famers via a Ford Motorcade around the warning track. Hall of Famers will be riding in 2019 Ford GT Mustang convertibles.

Cardinals Opening Day Video

2:50 p.m. Introduction of Cardinals principal owner and CEO, Bill DeWitt Jr.

Introduction of the 2019 St. Louis Cardinals via Ford Motorcade. The players will ride in 2019 Ford F-150 Raptors. Introduction of the San Diego Padres. Presentations of Color Guard and American Flag in center field, courtesy of the service men and women of Scott Air Force Base.

3:05 p.m. National Anthem performed by Kennedy Holmes, St. Louis teen vocal sensation and finalist of NBC’s “The Voice.”

3:07 p.m. KC-135 Flyover (weather permitting)

3:09 p.m. Ceremonial First Pitch by former teammates and 2019 Cardinals Hall of Fame nominees Jason Isringhausen and Matt Morris in recognition of the 15th anniversary of the team’s 2004 National League Championship.

3:15 p.m. First Pitch

photo credit: Bill Greenblatt/UPI

Leave a Reply